Skip to main content

What do you know about texting and driving laws in Nevada?

Here is a quick overview from our car accident attorneys of what you should know about Nevada’s texting and driving laws.

Summary of Texting & Driving Laws

Texting, accessing the internet, and using hand-held mobile phones while driving is illegal in Nevada. It is also illegal to use an electronic handheld device at a stoplight – including changing music or updating driving directions. (NRS 484B.165 – Source: Nevada DMV).

If you are caught using your cell phone (aka not using the hands-free or voice command features) while driving, the first fine is a minimum of $50. A second offense is a minimum of $100. A third and following offenses are a minimum of $250. These are minimums as fines are often doubled in work zones or courts may add on additional fees. *Hands-free does not mean holding your phone in your hand while using the speakerphone feature. If you are holding your phone in your hand, it’s not hands-free*

The second or third or more offenses will be treated as moving violations and points will be added to your driving record. Too many points on your driving record will result in your license being suspended.

Exceptions to the Law

There are exceptions to the texting and driving laws, but our auto accident lawyers always recommend pulling over before using your cell phone in your car.

The only true exceptions to the law for drivers of personal autos include reporting a medical emergency, hazard, or crime. First responders and utility workers also have exemptions while on duty.

Why Is Texting & Driving Such a Big Deal?

Even if you already know the laws around texting or talking while driving, you may not understand why it’s such a big deal. Texting or talking while driving is classified as “distracted driving.” Distracted drivers often have slower reaction times, don’t see other vehicles or pedestrians, and/or drift into other lanes of traffic.

Drivers are 4x more likely to crash when driving and using a cell phone. (Source: Nevada DOT)

Research shows that drivers who are talking or texting while driving have the same slowed reaction time as a drunk driver. (Source: Nevada DOT)

Nearly 3,500 people die each year in the U.S. from car accidents that involve a distracted driver. Another 500,000 people are injured each year in these accidents. These numbers are likely much higher than reported as it can be tough for law enforcement to determine if a driver was texting or talking on a phone during an accident. (Source: Nevada DOT)

Be Safe: Keep Your Eyes on the Road

These laws are in place to keep you and your loved ones safe. Unfortunately, as car accident attorneys, we’ve seen serious accidents caused by a driver looking for a song to play on their phone, texting a friend their ETA, or dialing a number to talk to a spouse.

All of these accidents can often be avoided by not using a cell phone while driving. Store your phone in a safe place while driving or enable voice commands to ensure you are “hands-free” and focused on the road.

If you’ve been involved in a car accident that may have involved a distracted driver, contact the experienced car accident attorneys at Coulter Harsh Law today.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.